Renaud Lavillenie

Pole Vault Betting

The pole vault is one of the longest standing events in the Olympics as it has been a full medal event since 1896 for the men, although it was only added to the women's events in 2000. It is a track and field event where the athlete uses a long, flexible pole to leap over a bar. The bar is gradually raised in height, with a vaulter getting three attempts to pass each height, and the athlete who successfully passes the greatest height is crowned the winner.

2020 Olympic Pole Vault Men's Odds

Odds will appear here when available...

2020 Olympic Pole Vault Women's Odds

Odds will appear here...

2016 Olympic Pole Vault Men's Result

Final - Monday 15th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Mark
1st Thiago Braz da Silva Brazil 6.03 (New OR)
2nd Renaud Lavillenie France 5.98
3rd Sam Kendricks USA 5.85

Get a free bet on the 2016 Games.

2016 Olympic Pole Vault Women's Result

Final - Saturday 20th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Result
1st Ekaterini Stefanidi Greece 4.85m
2nd Sandi Morris USA 4.85m
3rd Eliza McCartney New Zealand 4.80m

Check the athletics schedule.

The world record for the men's pole vault is 6.16m, set by Renaud Lavillenie in 2014, while the women's record is held by Russia's Yelena Isinbayeva, who jumped 5.06m in 2009.

Only a select number of pole vaulters have reached six metres in the past and those that have achieved the feat have joined the prestigious 'six metres club'. Sergey Bubka was actually the first to achieve the feat in 1985 and nine years later he set the world record, with the Ukrainian undoubtedly one of the greats of the sport.

World Records: - - -
Men 2014 Renaud Lavillenie (FRA) 6.16m
Women 2009 Yelena Isinbayeva (RUS) 5.06m

Javelin Odds | High Jump Odds | Discus Odds | Long Jump Odds

Get the latest medals table Betting.

Pole Vault Medallists - Men

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1896 Athens William Hoyt Albert Tyler Evangelos Damaskos
Ioannis Theodoropoulos
1900 Paris USAIrving Baxter USAMeredith Colket NorwayCarl-Albert Andersen
1904 St Louis USACharles Dvorak USALeRoy Samse USALouis Wilkins
1908 London Edward Cook
Albert Gilbert
None Awarded Edward Archibald
Charles Jacobs
Bruno Soderstrom
1912 Stockholm Harry Babcock Frank Nelson
Marc Wright
William Halpenny
Frank Murphy
Bertil Uggla
1920 Antwerp USAFrank Foss DenmarkHenry Petersen USAEdwin Myers
1924 Paris USALee Barnes USAGlen Graham USAJames Brooker
1928 Amsterdam USASabin Carr USAWilliam Droegemuller USACharles McGinnis
1932 Los Angeles USABill Miller JapanShuhei Nishida USAGeorge Jefferson
1936 Berlin USAEarle Meadows JapanShuhei Nishida JapanSueo Oe
1948 London USAGuinn Smith FinlandErkki Kataja USABob Richards
1952 Helsinki USABob Richards USADon Laz SwedenRagnar Lundberg
1956 Melbourne USABob Richards USABob Gutowski GreeceGeorgios Roubanis
1960 Rome USADon Bragg USARon Morris FinlandEeles Landstrom
1964 Tokyo USAFred Hansen Wolfgang Reinhardt Klaus Lehnertz
1968 Mexico City USABob Seagren West GermanyClaus Schiprowski East GermanyWolfgang Nordwig
1972 Munich East GermanyWolfgang Nordwig USABob Seagren USAJan Johnson
1976 Montreal PolandTadeusz Slusarski FinlandAntti Kalliomaki USADavid Roberts
1980 Moscow Wladyslaw Kozakiewicz Tadeusz Slusarski
Konstantin Volkov
None Awarded
1984 Los Angeles Pierre Quinon Mike Tully Earl Bell
Thierry Vigneron
1988 Seoul RussiaSergey Bubka RussiaRodion Gataullin RussiaGrigoriy Yegorov
1992 Barcelona Maksim Tarasov Igor Trandenkov SpainJavier Garcia
1996 Atlanta FranceJean Galfione RussiaIgor Trandenkov GermanyAndrei Tivontchik
2000 Sydney USANick Hysong USALawrence Johnson RussiaMaksim Tarasov
2004 Athens USATimothy Mack USAToby Stevenson ItalyGiuseppe Gibilisco
2008 Beijing AustraliaSteven Hooker RussiaYevgeny Lukyanenko UkraineDenys Yurchenko
2012 London FranceRenaud Lavillenie GermanyBjorn Otto GermanyRaphael Holzdeppe

Pole Vault Medallists - Women

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
2000 Sydney USAStacy Dragila AustraliaTatiana Grigorieva IcelandVala Flosadottir
2004 Athens RussiaYelena Isinbayeva RussiaSvetlana Feofanova PolandAnna Rogowska
2008 Beijing RussiaYelena Isinbayeva USAJennifer Stuczynski RussiaSvetlana Feofanova
2012 London USAJehn Suhr CubaYarisley Silva RussiaYelena Isinbayeva
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It