Olympic Discus Odds

Discus Betting

An athlete holding a discus has been one of the iconic images of the Olympic Games since ancient times. As with the javelin the discus is divided into male and female competitions with different regulations surrounding the size and weight of the object depending on gender. The men's discus weighs 2kg with a diameter of 219 -222mm whereas the women's weighs in at 1kg and has a diameter of 180-182mm. This explains the interesting reading when it comes to records, the Women€™s World record set in 1988 is held by Gabriele Reinsch of GDR and stands at 76.08m whereas her compatriot Jurgen Schukt claimed the World Record in 1986 with 74.08m.

Have a free bet on the Rio Olympics.

The men's Olympic Champion is Robert Harting of Germany and the women's is Sandro Perkovic of Croatia.

Javelin Odds | Decathlon Odds | Heptathlon Odds | Long Jump Odds | High Jump Odds

2020 Olympic Discus Mens Odds

Odds will appear here when available...

2020 Olympic Discus Womens Odds

Odds will appear here when available...

2016 Olympic Discus Mens Result

Final - Saturday 14th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Mark
1st Christoh Harting Germany 68.37
2nd Piotr Malachowski Poland 67.55
3rd Daniel Jasinski Germany 67.05

Check the Olympic Medals Table.

Discus Medallists - Men

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1896 Athens USARobert Garrett GreecePanagiotis Paraskevopoulos GreeceSotirios Versis
1900 Paris HungaryRudolf Bauer HungaryFrantisek Janda-Suk USARichard Sheldon
1904 St Louis USAMartin Sheridan USARalph Rose GreeceNikolaos Georgantas
1908 London USAMartin Sheridan USAMerritt Giffin USABill Horr
1912 Stockholm FinlandArmas Taipale USARichard Byrd USAJames Duncan
1920 Antwerp FinlandElmer Niklander FinlandArmas Taipale USAGus Pope
1924 Paris USABud Houser FinlandVilho Niittymaa USAThomas Lieb
1928 Amsterdam USABud Houser FinlandAntero Kivi USAJames Corson
1932 Los Angeles USAJohn Anderson USAHenri LaBorde FrancePaul Winter
1936 Berlin USAKen Carpenter USAGordon Dunn ItalyGiorgio Oberweger
1948 London ItalyAdolfo Consolini ItalyGiuseppe Tosi USAFortune Gordien
1952 Helsinki USASim Iness ItalyAdolfo Consolini USAJames Dillion
1956 Melbourne USAAl Oerter USAFortune Gordien USADes Koch
1960 Rome USAAl Oerter USARink Babka USADick Cochran
1964 Tokyo USAAl Oerter CzechoslovakiaLudvik Danek USADave Weill
1968 Mexico City USAAl Oerter East GermanyLothar Milde CzechoslovakiaLudvik Danek
1972 Munich CzechoslovakiaLudvik Danek USAJay Silvester SwedenRicky Bruch
1976 Montreal USAMac Wilkins East GermanyWolfgang Schmidt USAJohn Powell
1980 Moscow RussiaViktor Rashchupkin CzechoslovakiaImrich Bugar CubaLuis Delis
1984 Los Angeles West GermanyRolf Danneberg USAMac Wilkins USAJohn Powell
1988 Seoul East GermanyJurgen Schult RussiaRomas Ubartas West GermanyRolf Danneberg
1992 Barcelona LithuaniaRomas Ubartas LithuaniaJurgen Schult CubaRoberto Moya
1996 Atlanta CubaLars Riedel BelarusVladimir Dubrovshchik BelarusVasiliy Kaptyukh
2000 Sydney LithuaniaVirgilijus Alekna LithuaniaLars Riedel South AfricaFrantz Kruger
2004 Athens LithuaniaVirgilijus Alekna HungaryZoltan Kovago EstoniaAleksander Tammert
2008 Beijing EstoniaGerd Kanter PolandPiotr Malachowski LithuaniaVirgilijus Alekna
2012 London LithuaniaRobert Harting Ehsan Haddadi EstoniaGerd Kanter

Discus Medallists - Women

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1928 Amsterdam PolandHalina Konopacka USALillian Copeland SwedenRuth Svedberg
1932 Los Angeles USALillian Copeland USARuth Osburn PolandJadwiga Wajs
1936 Berlin GermanyGisela Mauermayer PolandJadwiga Wajs GermanyPaula Mollenhauer
1948 London FranceMicheline Ostermeyer ItalyEdera Gentile FranceJacqueline Mazeas
1952 Helsinki RussiaNina Romashkova RussiaYelisaveta Bagriantseva RussiaNina Dumbadze
1956 Melbourne CzechoslovakiaOlga Fikotova RussiaIrina Beglyakova RussiaNina Romashkova
1960 Rome RussiaNina Romashkova RussiaTamara Press RomaniaLia Manoliu
1964 Tokyo RussiaTamara Press RussiaIngrid Lotz RomaniaLia Manoliu
1968 Mexico City RomaniaLia Manoliu West GermanyLiesel Westermann HungaryJolan Kleiber-Kontsek
1972 Munich RussiaFaina Melnyk RomaniaArgentina Menis BulgariaVasilka Stoeva
1976 Montreal East GermanyEvelin Jahl BulgariaMariya Petkova East GermanyGabriele Hinzmann
1980 Moscow East GermanyEvelin Jahl BulgariaMariya Petkova RussiaTatyana Lesovaya
1984 Los Angeles NetherlandsRia Stalman USALeslie Deniz RomaniaFlorenta Craciunescu
1988 Seoul East GermanyMartina Hellmann East GermanyDiana Gansky BulgariaTsvetanka Khristova
1992 Barcelona CubaMaritza Marten BulgariaTsvetanka Khristova AustraliaDaniela Costian
1996 Atlanta GermanyIlke Wyludda GermanyNatalya Sadova BelarusEllina Zvereva
2000 Sydney BelarusEllina Zvereva GreeceAnastasia Kelesidou BelarusIryna Yatchenko
2004 Athens BelarusNatalya Sadova GreeceAnastasia Kelesidou BelarusIryna Yatchenko
2008 Beijing USAStephanie Brown Trafton CubaYarelis Barrios UkraineOlena Antonova
2012 London CroatiaSandra Perkovic ChinaLi Yangfeng CubaYarelys Barrios

Check the Olympic Athletics schedule.

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It