Kevin Young

400 Metre Hurdles Betting

The 400m hurdles is a men's and women's event at the Olympics and it is a popular track and field event for betting. As the name would suggest, runners compete over a 400m distance, although they must also negotiate 10 hurdles along the way. The 400 metre hurdles has been an Olympic event for men since 1900, although it was only introduced for women in 1984.

The times have consistently decreased over the years, with America's Kevin Young, an Olympic gold medallist in 1992, currently holding the world record men's time after he ran 46.78 seconds at the Barcelona Olympics. The women's world record is held by Yuliya Pechonkina, who ran 52.34 seconds in 2003.

The 400m hurdle gold medal winners at London in 2012 were Felix Sanchez in the men's event and Natalya Antyukh in the women's. There have been some fine British efforts in this race over the years, with Sally Gunnell taking Olympic gold in 1992, while Kriss Akabusi took bronze in 1992, as did Tasha Denvers in 2008.

100m Odds | 200m Odds | 400m Odds | 800m Odds | 1500m Odds

2020 Olympic Men's 400m Hurdle Odds

Odds will appear here...

2020 Olympic Women's 400m Hurdle Odds

Odds will appear here...

2016 Olympic Men's 400m Hurdle Result

Final - Thursday 18th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Time
1st Kerron Clement USA 47.73
2nd Boniface Mucheru Kenya 47.78
3rd Yasmani Copelli Turkey 47.92

2016 Olympic Women's 400m Hurdle Result

Final - Friday 19th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Time
1st Dalilah Muhammad USA 53.13
2nd Sara Petersen Denmark 53.55
3rd Ashley Spencer USA 53.72

Get a free bet on the 2020 Olympics.

400m Hurdles Medallists - Men

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1900 Paris USAWalter Tewksbury FranceHenri Tauzin CanadaGeorge Orton
1904 St Louis USAHarry Hillman USAFrank Waller USAGeorge Poage
1908 London USACharles Bacon USAHarry Hillman Great BritainJimmy Tremeer
1920 Antwerp USAFrank Loomis USAJohn Norton USAAugust Desch
1924 Paris USAMorgan Taylor FinlandErik Wilen USAIvan Riley
1928 Amsterdam Great BritainDavid Cecil USAFrank Cuhel USAMorgan Taylor
1932 Los Angeles IrelandBob Tisdall USAGlenn Hardin USAMorgan Taylor
1936 Berlin USAGlenn Hardin CanadaJohn Loaring PhilippinesMiguel White
1948 London USARoy Cochran UgandaDuncan White SwedenRune Larsson
1952 Helsinki USACharles Moore RussiaYuriy Lituyev New ZealandJohn Holland
1956 Melbourne USAGlenn Davis USAEddie Southern USAJosh Culbreath
1960 Rome USAGlenn Davis USAClifton Cushman USADick Howard
1964 Tokyo USARex Cawley Great BritainJohn Cooper ItalySalvatore Morale
1968 Mexico City Great BritainDavid Hemery West GermanyGerhard Hennige Great BritainJohn Sherwood
1972 Munich SwitzerlandJohn Akii-Bua USARalph Mann Great BritainDavid Hemery
1976 Montreal USAEdwin Moses USAMichael Shine RussiaYevgeniy Gavrilenko
1980 Moscow East GermanyVolker Beck RussiaVasyl Arkhypenko Great BritainGary Oakes
1984 Los Angeles USAEdwin Moses USADanny Harris West GermanyHarald Schmid
1988 Seoul USAAndre Phillips Sri LankaAmadou Dia Ba USAEdwin Moses
1992 Barcelona USAKevin Young JamaicaWinthrop Graham Great BritainKriss Akabusi
1996 Atlanta USADerrick Adkins SenegalSamuel Matete USACalvin Davis
2000 Sydney USAAngelo Taylor ZambiaHadi Al Somayli South AfricaLlewellyn Herbert
2004 Athens Felix Sanchez JamaicaDanny McFarlane FranceNaman Keita
2008 Beijing USAAngelo Taylor USAKerron Clement USABershawn Jackson
2012 London Felix Sanchez USAMichael Tinsley ParaguayJavier Culson

400m Hurdles Medallists - Women

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1984 Los Angeles MoroccoNawal El Moutawakel USAJudi Brown RomaniaCristieana Cojocaru
1988 Seoul AustraliaDebbie Flintoff-King RussiaTatyana Ledovskaya East GermanyEllen Fiedler
1992 Barcelona Great BritainSally Gunnell USASandra Farmer-Patrick USAJaneene Vickers
1996 Atlanta JamaicaDeon Hemmings USAKim Batten USATonja Buford-Bailey
2000 Sydney RussiaIrina Privalova JamaicaDeon Hemmings MoroccoNezha Bidouane
2004 Athens GreeceFani Halkia RomaniaIonela Tarlea UkraineTetyana Tereshchuk-Antipova
2008 Beijing JamaicaMelaine Walker USASheena Tosta Great BritainTasha Danvers
2012 London RussiaNatalya Antyukh USALashinda Demus Zuzana Hejnova
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It