1500 Metres odds

1500 Metres Betting

The 1500 metre race has always attracted great interest, as the distance closest in length to one imperial mile. In the same way as the 100 metre sprint has been revered as revealing the fastest woman and man on earth, athletes who compete in the 1500 metres compete with the widely held knowledge of the competition to break the 4 minute mile and hence draws a lot of attention as the premier middle distance event.

100m Odds | 200m Odds | 400m Odds | 800m Odds

2020 Olympic 1500m Men's Odds

Odds will appear here...

2020 Olympic 1500m Women's Odds

Odds will appear here...

2016 Olympic 1500m Men's Result

Final - Friday 19th August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Time
1st Matthew Centrowitz USA 3:50.00
2nd Taoufik Makhloufi Algeria 3:50.11
3rd Nick Willis New Zealand 3:50.24

2016 Olympic 1500m Women's Result

Final - Saturday 21st August 2016

Result Athlete Nationality Time
1st Faith Chepngetich Kipyegon Kenya 4:08.92
2nd Genzeba Dibaba Ethiopia 4:10.27
3rd Jennifer Simpson USA 4:10.53

Get a free bet on the 2020 Olympics.

Athletes run three and three quarter laps of the track, starting and finishing on the same line. Hicham El Guerrouj of Morocco set the men€™s world record in 1998 in Rome in a time of 3.26.00secs and Genzebe Dibaba set a new women's world record time of 3.50.07 in 2015.

Taoufik Makhloufi won the Olympic Gold medal in the men's event in 2012 but the women's winner Asli Cakir Apltekin was stripped of the women's gold medal following a lifetime ban from the sport for doping.

Notable British Olympic winners at this event are Kelly Holmes in 2004 in Athens and Seb Coe in 1980 in Moscow and again in 1984 in Los Angeles.

1500m Medallists - Men

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1896 Athens Australia Edwin Flack United States Arthur Blake France Albin Lermusiaux
1900 Paris Great Britain Charles Bennett France Henri Deloge United States John Bray
1904 St. Louis United States James Lightbody United States Frank Verner United States Lacey Hearn
1908 London United States Mel Sheppard Great Britain Harold Wilson Great Britain Norman Hallows
1912 Stockholm Great Britain Arnold Jackson United States Abel Kiviat United States Norman Taber
1920 Antwerp Great Britain Albert Hill Great Britain Philip Baker United States Lawrence Shields
1924 Paris Finland Paavo Nurmi Switzerland Willy Scharer Great Britain Henry Stallard
1928 Amsterdam Finland Harri Larva France Jules Ladoumegue Finland Eino Purje
1932 Los Angeles Italy Luigi Beccali Great Britain Jerry Cornes Canada Phil Edwards
1936 Berlin New Zealand Jack Lovelock United States Glenn Cunningham Italy Luigi Beccali
1948 London Sweden Henry Eriksson Sweden Lennart Strand Netherlands Wim Slijkhuis
1952 Helsinki Luxembourg Josy Barthel United States Bob McMillen Germany Werner Lueg
1956 Melbourne Ireland Ron Delany Germany Klaus Richtzenhain Australia John Landy
1960 Rome Australia Herb Elliott France Michel Jazy Hungary Istvan Rozsavolgyi
1964 Tokyo New Zealand Peter Snell Czechoslovakia Josef Odlozil New Zealand John Davies
1968 Mexico City Kenya Kipchoge Keino United States Jim Ryun West Germany Bodo Tummler
1972 Munich Finland Pekka Vasala Kenya Kipchoge Keino New Zealand Rod Dixon
1976 Montreal New Zealand John Walker Belgium Ivo van Damme West Germany Paul-Heinz Wellmann
1980 Moscow Great Britain Sebastian Coe East Germany Jurgen Straub Great Britain Steve Ovett
1984 Los Angeles Great Britain Sebastian Coe Great Britain Steve Cram Spain Jose Manuel Abascal
1988 Seoul Kenya Peter Rono Great Britain Peter Elliott East Germany Jens-Peter Herold
1992 Barcelona Spain Fermin Cacho Morocco Rachid El Basir Qatar Mohammed Suleiman
1996 Atlanta Algeria Noureddine Morceli Spain Fermiin Cacho Kenya Stephen Kipkorir
2000 Sydney Kenya Noah Ngeny Morocco Hicham El Guerrouj Kenya Bernard Lagat
2004 Athens Morocco Hicham El Guerrouj Kenya Bernard Lagat Portugal Rui Silva
2008 Beijing Kenya Asbel Kiprop New Zealand Nick Willis France Mehdi Baala
2012 London AlgeriaTaoufik Makhloufi United StatesLeonel Manzano MoroccoAbdalaati Iguider

1500m Medallists - Women

Year Host Gold Silver Bronze
1972 Munich Soviet Union Lyudmila Bragina East Germany Gunhild Hoffmeister Italy Paola Pigni
1976 Montreal Soviet Union Tatyana Kazankina East Germany Gunhild Hoffmeister East Germany Ulrike Klapezynski
1980 Moscow Soviet Union Tatyana Kazankina East Germany Christiane Wartenberg Soviet Union Nadezhda Olizarenko
1984 Los Angeles Italy Gabriella Dorio Romania Doina Melinte Romania Maricica Puici
1988 Seoul Romania Paula Ivan Soviet Union Laimuti Baikauskaiti Soviet Union Tetyana Samolenko
1992 Barcelona Algeria Hassiba Boulmerka Unified Team Lyudmila Rogachova China Qu Yunxia
1996 Atlanta Russia Svetlana Masterkova Romania Gabriela Szabi Austria Theresia Kiesl
2000 Sydney Algeria Nouria Merah-Benida Romania Violeta Szekely Romania Gabriela Szabi
2004 Athens Great Britain Kelly Holmes Russia Tatyana Tomashova Romania Maria Cioncan
2008 Beijing Kenya Nancy Lagat Ukraine Iryna Lishchynska Ukraine Nataliya Tobias
2012 London No Winner* TurkeyGamze Bulut Maryam Yusuf Jamal

*2012 winner Asli Cakir Apltekin was stripped of her gold medal following a ban for doping which led to a lifetime ban from the sport.

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New William Hill online customers only. Min. unit stake of £10 at odds of 1/2 or greater. Only the 'win' part from EW bets will count. Free bet terms, payment method & country restrictions apply. Free bets credited as 3 x £10. Free bet stakes are not returned as part of the settlement of successful free bets. All Free Bets must be wagered within 30 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It